Thursdays ROCK – but this Thursday was the best this year

If I was to pick a day out of this year that summed up me and what makes me happy – today would be it. Here’s what I did:

3.15am Shriek at daughter and daughter’s friends for still being awake and over-excited after watching High School Musical 3 (OK bad start)

6.15am Wake up and lie in bed considering how to get out of all today had in store – FAIL

8.30am Meet Michelle Acton-Bond for breakfast to talk about her work for Channel Four’s Battlefront on cyber-bullying. We talked about this, as well as personal stuff, mutual friends and general how-dos. As ever, it was delightful and a wonderful way to start any day: inspired.

9.30am Hit desk and email – happen to have a discussion with someone who has a desk close to mine who can help Michelle get to the relevant people in government who have cyber-bullying as part of their policy areas

*between* organise lunch for next week with two people I adore, and who happen to be available on the same day as each other, and me… bonus

11am Meet with someone with whom I have a difficult professional relationship to explain how I felt and how we might move forward. SUCCESS: WITHOUT SWEARING

Show off to boss

12pm Meet a bloke who’s company is potentially doing some critical web audit work for us: fully believe, after meeting, that the company can deliver

1pm Complete to do list: extraordinary achievement – done by plugging self into two computers and ipod

2pm Meet UKBA, UK Visas and Directgov to discuss the way forward for delivering online content for the overseas audience: potentially a very controversial meeting, but turned out fine

*between* secure the time of an editor I have been chasing for a while to work with us on the IPS content for Directgov (thanks Fran and Christi)

4.30pm Meet Ministry of Justice, Atul Sharda, to make sure that the two depts (HO and MOJ) are working in alignment for website rationalisation and general loveliness – we are! (Can this get any better?)

5.45pm Get to One Alfred Place early for Oli Barrett‘s networking event, meet Alice Sherwood from the KitCat Club – bore her silly with public sector news… pitch for place at the KitCat table (WIN)

6pm network network: how I missed this. Great people, sometimes inspiring, sometimes boring – but nothing is boring when you realise that Tom Steinberg from My Society has not met Robert Loch.

It is like bubble wrap, you think you have popped all the all there is to pop… then you find a couple more.

Ad Nauseum Post Script: yes I did do more than this today to earn my crust, but have chosen not to bore you with it…

Further blogging sin- updating after I have posted BUT – I do not include my family in my BEST THURSDAY EVER post… that is mine but it did end with reading Maximum Ride to my daughter before she slept

2 responses

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

