Christmas cheer and stuff

So the time of year has come where we all start buying Christmas things and thinking about charity. I wanted to choose a charity for me to give a donation to and have been thinking about which one. I also wanted it to be twitter related as twitter consistently gives me great support, personally and professionally. I wish I could give a pound for every follower, but I can’t, so I decided that as I have nigh on 5000 followers (it’ll do), I could take off a nought and give £500 to a charity of my choice.

I wish I was able to make that £5000

I won’t take you through the boring brain process but I decided that I would like to give my princely sum of £500 to a charitable cause that was personal to me and my family.

And so I choose to give it to Harry Moseley’s Mum.

Harry died of a brain tumour October 2011 but his story has always been dear to me. I know many young people die of brain cancer, all of whom have families, but I happened to (through twitter) be a part of Harry’s life and death. I never met him or his family, but he made sure we all knew him, and his family, and his mother continues to campaign in his name to raise awareness of brain cancer. I remember vividly the night he came home from hospital, having been in a coma for weeks, and Georgie (his Mum) holding him in her arms as they both slept at night… Georgie tweeting on behalf of them both, in the spirit Harry had tweeted as a dying child. All of Harry’s followers silently cuddled him in his last days and have since supported Georgie in her vigil to keep helping Harry help others #HHHO.

So the second Christmas is coming without Harry, and whilst I know I can give to his charity, I want the £500 I give to go to his siblings: Danielle and Louie, and to Georgie and Darren – his Mum and Dad.

I wrote about Harry a while back and I really do believe he used twitter to share his story as much for his family as for himself.

Needless to say, death is a mind-fuck and grief inexplicably horrific – but I would like to celebrate Harry this Christmas.

This blog post is not about charity, but about (hopefully) being a bit thoughtful about how we all share Christmas this year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

