Oh Emma, not another Twitter rant

No… but a Twitter-induced rant.

I have been gearing up to taking on a serious amount of work this week – OK, seeing my mates, taking the odd telephone call and playing; all in the knowledge that my life was about to be taken over by work once again, come May.

Inevitably the conversations I have been having have been supremely brilliant at completely confusing me about what I really think or feel. I have my young, free, whipper-snapper friends snapping at the heels of VCs in San Francisco, chiding me with their success; jaded worker bees who, like me, have no such luxury as far as fabulous travel is concerned – but still have brains that jolt and purr with new ideas; newbies who are so brilliantly clever and so enthused with ideas and healthy livers…

I want to go back to work for a break!

Inevitably, Twitter has played a part in this mayhem of being work-free, and I have either indulged fully, gorging myself on talking about ME every few seconds (yes I do manage to bore myself as well!) to just popping in and out checking up on my colleagues there.

My last moan on Twitter was about community vs. commune.

What a commune brings to mind is a peaceful, hippy place, where everyone is there to do good and help each other – of course there is more, but frontal lobes people, frontal lobes – this is where Twitter and social meja come in.

Community is starting to feel a bit bingo-y, if you know what I mean. What is an online community? Who creates them? Organisations, based on the knowledge they have gleaned from your/our behaviour online.

I don’t want to be in a community, I want to be in a commune… but not on Twitter!

Thoughts?

7 responses

  1. I see where you are going and agree with the definition of what a commune and a community are … but I would rather be in a community than a commune and this is why.
    In my mind a commune is very inward looking, helping each other, picking each other up when we fall … fine … no problems with that, we all need TLC from friends – I know I do.
    But, a community is outward looking, sticking together as a unit and reaching out to help others, joining up on and off-line with other communities, creating bigger parties and shaping civil society through collective power – even call it collaboration !
    … which is bizarre because I was writing my post about collaboration and working together at same time as you were writing this (invisible brain ties!).

    Sorry to disagree a little – still love you !
    ping socieriefI .

  2. Hey, I have no problem with people disagreeing! I just ponder here, your collective thoughts are what I try to draw out – thank you.

    I understand your point about commune vs community, and like the idea of a community being outward-looking, I would like to be a part of that. I just have never seen it in action – commune seems to be the natural bent of social media groups… community the aim.

    I accept that I was being a bit rubbish in my assumption that communities are solely created by organisations

  3. I kind of agree Mulqueeny. Here’s how I see it. A commune is actually a close environment where everyone is deliberately invited and share common goals and commonality. A community like Twitter is actually quite open and the last thing you want is spammy “tweets” disturbing your peace. What do you think?

  4. Don’t both these words have their origin in physical groupings of people, when most people thought, lived and acted locally? I’ve just looked up commune on dictionary.com and got 16 diff references – eeek. Some back up what I was going to say; others back up what Emma was saying and others back up what Watford Gap was saying.

    I’m now going off on a ranty tangent….

    This is where I find some blogging a bit wooly and frustrating – and I suspect the same applies to twittering. In the comments thus far we are each commenting upon comments about words which have many different meanings. A real conversation is much more efficient and rich.

    Virtual conversations

    I’m enjoying reading and contributing to them, as and when I can, but they do have their limitations. Maybe they are best for two different things:
    communing on target topics
    registering a musing on others.

    Maybe one in 10 musings becomes a commune?

    Time for lunch, and an increase in bloodsugar level.

  5. Yes, er Jeremy, can I just point out that I am not a very good example of a blogger? I think posts are supposed to have a point, and most do, mine ramble – apologies – must try harder!

  6. So in open source software we talk a great deal about communities, I don’t ever recall hearing about an open source commune.

    The community is actually far more important that the software – Without the community there is no software. When you have code but no community your life is very difficult.

    Who create communities? I think they form themselves. People have a common goal or interest and form around that.

    Asking Google to define community provides some rather varied results :

    http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&sa=X&oi=spell&resnum=0&ct=result&cd=1&q=define%3Acommunity&spell=1

    The most agreeable definition for me would be :

    “The aggregate of persons with common characteristics such as geographic, professional, cultural, racial, religious, or socio-economic similarities; communities can be defined by location, race, ethnicity, age, occupation, interest in particular problems or outcomes, or other common bonds”

  7. Twitter has brought together a loose connection of people from various sectors – but all with a shared aim.
    I like the commune feeling of the community – just to mix both words inaapropriately!

    See, I can’t blog well – or even blog comment well, but if everyone wrote perfect blogs they would be boring.

    Like Twitter that asks “What are you doing?”, A blog consists of personal thoughts expressed to be shared as part of a conversation and for others like myself to learn from them.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

