geeKyoto

One evening at one of Steve Moore’s dos, I rather rashly agreed to speak for ten minutes at the geeKyoto event – having no idea what it was about, or indeed what I could bring to the party.

For those of you who are not aware of it, this is the point:

We broke the world. Now what?

Mark Simpkins and Ben Hammersley announce a one day conference in central London, with designers, technologists, artists, architects, policy-makers, explorers, economists and scientists, and clever people like you, to discuss the future and how we’ll live in it.

Mark and Ben duly listed me as a speaker (thanks boys) on the website (I begged to be taken off – duly removed, but now I want to go back on :)) – hey I am female!

Mitch Sava from Polywonk is also speaking, and I hope that we can collaborate as his area is policy – and we know each other a bit.

Ben wants something about the UKGovBarCamp, therefore I roped in Mr Gould, (sorry J), and sat down to think.

Bizarrely, musing here helps me shape my ideas, and any input from you would be greatly appreciated, either here or directly to my gmail account.

So… how to apply UKGovBarCamp and policy to fixing the world? (Social Media Superheroes)

What comes to mind, and excites me, is the collaboration between civil servants, consultants and policy people. This is where the energy lies in ‘getting stuff done’. For energy and determination is required, believe you me, to chip through the quagmire of bureaucracy that we work in, (I am sure this is not limited to the public sector).

The UKGovBarCamp successfully created a virtual world where collaboration has been enabled, and the ideas seeded and nurtured; however, there is a long way to go to affect that change in the reality of public sector life.

So, what I think I want to talk about is collaboration across diverse, and often adverse, sectors/talents. It is very much a case of the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak…

Hopefully, although the running script said that I will be speaking, it will actually be a co-voiced experience, with Jeremy, Mitch and myself.

Lord knows, but it will happen, and I would appreciate any thoughts… please🙂

2 responses

  1. Well if you are stuck for something to say just tell Jeremy that I have a MacBook Air and the resulting antics should keep the audience amused for a while🙂

    (JG – And no I don’t have one … yet)

    So how to change the world? Ah, it’s good to have something simple to deal with.

    Ok, 3 quick ideas which you can ignore.

    Responsive Government – using social networks to feedback success/failures from policy initiatives and course correct them.

    “Open” Government – a kind of variation on the above theme – what are the consequences of our actions? We sit in our policy silos and think up policies which our comms colleagues then publicise but what effect do they have? The lag between idea and action in our world can be vast indeed.

    Government as laboratory – one of the odd things about government is that we seldom test our ideas. Laws/policies are rolled out whole. How about using social networks as testbeds for ideas and policies? You get 3~4 groups to brainstorm around a particular area and then we trial the ideas, social network the feedback and incrementally develop the optimum solution.

  2. Pingback: geeKyoto2008 lineup (Robert Brook)

Leave a Reply

