twitter again

*sigh* with profound relief I have disabled twitterfox in my Firefox browser.

As you know I have suffered with twitter for many months now, I try and try to allow it to settle into my online life, but it never sits happily.

Recently, probably for the last three months, I have persevered and have watched, joined in and taken over the conversations happening between my followers and those I follow. I twitter-slutted my blog posts in a vague attempt to get the people I desperately want to read it, to do so!

This week I have given a blow by blow (apologies twitter followers) account of my daughter’s birthday, shared stuff that I have discovered about the reshuffle and learned from others about what is happening. But it is exactly this blurring of lines between the professional and personal that I find so uncomfortable.

My blog does not exactly sit entirely in one camp or the other, but I do tend to consider carefully what I do share. On twitter, I don’t. Once I start I don’t stop and I feel as if I violate some of my own personal space, and certainly intrude on others. I begin to validate what I do by the response I get on twitter – and that is cr*p.

So in this Sunday musing post, I will take you on this latest step in my twitter journey. By disabling twitterfox I simply do not get an alert every time someone ‘tweets’, and I am not forever distracted nor tempted to ‘tweet’.

I do still have a twitter account, but I have once again locked it so that only my followers can read what I write. Perhaps I will now be more considered.

Twitter has been useful during the reshuffle, and has been valuable for discovering exciting developments in the social media space. But now I can choose to explore it when I need, or have the time. If I can get it to work with my online life, I will keep my account, if not, I will simply delete it.

8 responses

  1. Edifying to hear others like me who struggle between overlapping spheres of personal and professional space. Complete separation steals from the authenticity of the “complete” life, but complete fusion seems illusory, egocentric (all is all about me), and unreassuring.

    Your new direction sounds thoughtful and wise. Ironic, though, that you had to muster some personal candor to get there. I suppose the pure sphere, be it personal or professional, cleanly separated, doesn’t really exist.

    Thanks for this.

    bob

  2. Bob, you are very right. I don’t know what the nirvana is… it lies somewhere in the middle, but it certainly does not involve me sharing what I am cooking my family for lunch on a Sunday – no matter how lovely it is🙂

  3. Twittersux. I just keep assuming there’s a whole bunch of people out there for whom it’s ‘working’: that this wash of twaddle and ephemera is just the right depth to be informative, discursive, interactive, ah what the fuck. But I think this is just an illusion.

  4. Um you just said f*ck on my blog! But what the hey…

    Something very strange has happened since I wrote this post, however. I feel free, like when you end a relationship that is not working.

  5. I’ll miss your tweets, but I’m glad (from your last comment) that you’ve made the right decision for you. I’m still not sure about twitter myself; however, it has proved valuable at work and amusing at home, so I’ll be keeping it for now. Although I do feel a bit of a fraud sometimes as I rarely tweet myself, but lap up others.

    On the larger picture of work/life balance in social media – I have been considering whether to try and separate the two a little more. The main difficulty is Facebook, which would be a nightmare to try and split – I’m still hoping they’ll introduce some sort of functionality to handle it from a single account.

  6. Oh Mr Crump, thank you for being as lovely as ever. Twitter does have a value, I am not saying that it doesn’t, I just have not yet found the balance, so I am paring back down to very little and see what happens.

    Facebook?! I ditched that one a while back, well I stopped managing my profile and never logged in. Then my Mum went on it, an my family in Australia &c &c and I find myself drawn back in a bit. But there I find it far easier to keep it social.

    Having said that, I did find out that we were keeping Tom as our e-minister through a comment on my facebook update – so… as I said, wobbly line!

  7. I’d worry that you’re leaving because of something I said – but am reassured (in a sad sort of way) that you never even knew I was around Twitter till today!

    I go through moments of being overloaded with email, RSS, etc from time to time and just drop out too. I come back in the end when I’m feeling more adept at juggling and filtering (I’m pretty good at the moment – honest, guv) and I hope that maybe sometime in the future you’ll feel the same and head back for the occasional tweet now and again.

    And I owe you a thank you: as you know absolutely everyone, and everyone knows you, it’s stopped me floundering around trying to work out who/where everyone was – because everyone ended up at hubmum sooner or later!

Leave a Reply

